Crista Ayers

I hate socks.

A Round of Words In 80 Days – Goals

Most people seem to be posting their daily word goal, but I always feel guilty when I set a goal and then don’t get to write that day, so I’m shooting for 1000 words a week. (Which is I think is what I already set for my personal goal… Yep. 1000.) So now I’m stating it for ROW80. This is just under 150 words a day, so at the end of the 80 days (almost 3 months) I should have at least 12,000 words.

Which is absolutely better than none.

Here’s the current list of participants. April 4th will be the start date.

14 responses to “A Round of Words In 80 Days – Goals

  1. Katherine Nabity March 31, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Good goal! I’m a fan of the weekly or every-two-week goal instead of daily goals. Sometimes, a day gets completely out of hand.

    Welcome to RoW80!

  2. Katy Bennett March 31, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Best of luck for round 2.

  3. Claire Farrell March 31, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    It’s MUCH better than none. Enjoy ROW80! šŸ™‚

  4. alberta ross March 31, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    all the best for round 2 – I like a weekly type goal – in my experience if you set a daily one someone will come up with a wet fish and slap that day down – keep smiling

  5. Cathryn Louis March 31, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    I like your approach to weekly goals. That’s what I’m doing this round as well. Not word count though – scenes completed. Good luck this round!

  6. Ghenet April 2, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Sounds like the perfect goal to me! I’m doing ROW80 for the first time this round and I really want to finish the first draft of my WIP. I’ve given my self a daily word count goal to push myself, but I won’t beat myself over it if I don’t make it. Good luck!

  7. Heidi April 2, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Hi! I’m doing weekly goals, too – it just seems like that way if there’s a bad day in the mix I won’t beat myself up so badly about it. Good luck with your goals!

  8. kerrymeacham April 3, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Good luck Crista. My first ROW80 and looking forward to it.

  9. Belinda Kroll April 4, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    ROW80 Sponsor here! Glad to have you join us. I’m doing a similar thing of having a weekly writing goal. I’m calling it low-hanging fruit because I only have to write 750 words a week… which breaks down to about 108 words a day. Surely I can do that. Right?

    Best of luck!

  10. Evylin Gibbs April 4, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    That is so true; any words are better than no words! šŸ™‚ Best of luck with this round!

  11. Maria Papadopoulou April 7, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I get what you are saying…self-discipline and organization are necessary but…if you pressure yourself too much, you will end up with something we all know and love….WRITER’S BLOCK!

Leave a Reply

